Core Faculty

All

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | P | R | S | T | V | W | Y | Z
Fields of interest
Abbas Amanat
Professor of History
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
abbas.amanat@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1368
Website

Modern Middle East, early modern and modern Iran, Sh’ism and the Persianate world

Gerhard Bowering
Professor of Religious Studies
451 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8906
gerhard.bowering@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0842
Website

Islamic Studies

Rosie Bsheer
Assistant Professor of History
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
rosie.bsheer@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1352
Website

Modern Middle East, Arabian Peninsula, sociocultural and urban history, comparative colonialism, history of economic thought

Robyn Creswell
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
451 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8906
robyn.creswell@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4752
Website

Modernist Poetry; Modern Arabic Literature; Theory and Practice of Translation; Contemporary American Poetry; Genre Theory; Politics of the Modern Middle East

John Darnell
Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
john.darnell@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2159
Website

Egyptology, Egyptian language, Egyptian scripts, desert archaeology, desert road archaeology, epigraphy, Nubian archaeology and history, ancient northeast Africa, ancient military history, landscape archaeology, graffiti and rock inscriptions

Narges Erami
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
10 Sachem St, New Haven, CT 06511-3707
narges.erami@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-4204
Website

Sociocultural Anthropology

Steven Fraade
Mark Taper Professor of Religious Studies; Chair, Judaic Studies
451 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8906
steven.fraade@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0838
Website

The history and literature of Jews and Judaism in the ancient (Hellenistic and Roman) world; early rabbinic literature, both legal and narrative; Judaism of the late Second Temple period; the Dead Sea Scrolls; translation and multilingualism in ancient Judaism and Jewish societies

Eckart Frahm
Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
eckart.frahm@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5584
Website

Assyriology; Assyrian and Babylonian history and Mesopotamian scholarly texts of the first millennium BCE

Supriya Gandhi
Lecturer in Religious Studies
supriya.gandhi@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4866
Website

Asian Religions, Islamic Studies

Zareena Grewal
Associate Professor of American Studies and Religious Studies
100 Wall Street New Haven, Connecticut 06511
zareena.grewal@yale.edu
Phone: 203-436-8168
Website

Race, gender, religion, nationalism, and transnationalism across a wide spectrum of American Muslim communities

Frank Griffel
Professor of Religious Studies
451 College St, New Haven, CT 06511
frank.griffel@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0829
Website

Islamic Studies

Dimitri Gutas
Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
dimitri.gutas@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-2947
Website

Classical Arabic, Graeco-Arabic studies, pre-modern intellectual tradition in Islamic civilization

Hannan Hever
Jacob and Hilda Blaustein Professor of Judaic Studies and Professor of Comparative Literature
451 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8906
hannan.hever@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-0843
Website

Cultural history of Modern Hebrew poetry and prose; critical theory; Postcolonial Theory; theory of cultural and literary critique; history and politics of the Hassidic tale

Marcia Inhorn
William K. Lanman, Jr. Professor of Anthropology and International Affairs
10 Sachem St, New Haven, CT 06511-3707
marcia.inhorn@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4510
Website

Medical Anthropology, Modern Middle East Studies, Islamic Studies, Middle East Gender Studies, Masculinity Studies, Health and Medicine in the Middle East, Reproduction, Religion and Bioethics, Refugee Studies; Field Research in the Arab Gulf, Lebanon, Egypt, Arab America

Jill Jarvis
Assistant Professor of French
82-90 Wall Street, Rm 421
jill.jarvis@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-4906
Website

Aesthetics and politics of the Maghreb and the Sahara; Translation practice and theory; Colonialism, empire, postcolonial theory and literatures; questions of nationalism, violence, & justice

Kaveh Khoshnood
Associate Professor / School of Public Health
60 College St, New Haven, CT 06510-3210
kaveh.khoshnood@yale.edu
Phone: 203-785-2920
Website

Violent conflict and health, Refugee health, Humanitarian health ethics 

Alan Mikhail
Professor of History
320 York St, New Haven, CT 06511-3627
alan.mikhail@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1353
Website

Early Modern Muslim World, Ottoman Empire, Egypt, Environmental History, Early Modern History, History of Medicine

Robert Nelson
Robert Lehman Professor in the History of Art
190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
robert.nelson@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-9884
Website

Byzantine and Medieval Art; Medieval Revival Art

Eda Pepi
Assistant Professor in Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
WLH 319
eda.pepi@yale.edu
Website

The anthropology of the Middle East and North Africa; gender, marriage, and kinship; citizenship, migration, and statelessness; inheritance and politics; ethnicity, indigeneity, and race; sovereignty, neoliberalism, and the state; security, surveillance, and policing; historicism and post-colonial historiographies; sexual violence in anthropology; the politics of religion

Kishwar Rizvi
Chair & Graduate Certificate Adviser, Council on Middle East Studies; Associate Professor in the History of Art
190 York St, New Haven, CT 06511
kishwar.rizvi@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5803
Website

Islamic art and architectural history; fieldwork in Iran, Syria, Turkey, Pakistan, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia and Qatar. Issues of gender, nationalism and religious identity, pilgrimage and ritual in the Islamic world, 15-21st centuries.

Emma Sky
Director, World Fellows Program; Lecturer in the Jackson Institute
55 Hillhouse Avenue New Haven, Connecticut 06511
emma.sky@yale.edu
Website

Middle East politics

Shawkat Toorawa
Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
shawkat.toorawa@yale.edu
Website

Classical and medieval Arabic literature, modern Arabic poetry, the Qur’an, and the Indian Ocean

Kevin van Bladel
Professor of Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations
320 York Street New Haven, CT 06511
kevin.vanbladel@yale.edu

Early Arabic scholarship; ancient Iranian languages and societies; Syriac; Greek; history of science, scholarship, and religions of the Near East 200-1200; historical sociolinguistics

Jonathan Wyrtzen
Associate Professor of Sociology and International Affairs
493 College St, New Haven, CT 06511-8907
jonathan.wyrtzen@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-5172
Website

State formation, colonialism and empire, ethnicity and nationalism, urban and rural contentious politics, and Islamic social movements, in North Africa and the Middle East

Travis Zadeh
Director of Undergraduate Studies, MMES Major; Assistant Professor of Religious Studies
travis.zadeh@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-6532
Website

Islamic Studies